May Day

In which German states is May Day a public holiday?

May Day is a nationwide holiday in Germany and is considered a public holiday in all federal states: Baden-Württemberg, Bavaria, Berlin, Brandenburg, Bremen, Hamburg, Hesse, Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania, Lower Saxony, North Rhine-Westphalia, Rhineland-Palatinate, Saarland, Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt, Schleswig-Holstein, Thuringia. Banks are closed on this federal holiday in all German states.

May Day 2023, 2024, 2025

The next appointments for May Day are on the following dates:

Public holiday Date
May Day 2023 May 1, 2023 (Monday)
May Day 2024 May 1, 2024 (Wednesday)
May Day 2025 May 1, 2025 (Thursday)
May Day 2026 May 1, 2026 (Friday)
May Day 2027 May 1, 2027 (Saturday)