Easter Monday

In which German states is Easter Monday a public holiday?

Easter Monday is a nationwide holiday in Germany and is considered a public holiday in all federal states: Baden-Württemberg, Bavaria, Berlin, Brandenburg, Bremen, Hamburg, Hesse, Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania, Lower Saxony, North Rhine-Westphalia, Rhineland-Palatinate, Saarland, Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt, Schleswig-Holstein, Thuringia. Banks are closed on this federal holiday in all German states.

Easter Monday 2023, 2024, 2025

The next appointments for Easter Monday are on the following dates:

Public holiday Date
Easter Monday 2023 April 10, 2023 (Monday)
Easter Monday 2024 April 1, 2024 (Monday)
Easter Monday 2025 April 21, 2025 (Monday)
Easter Monday 2026 April 6, 2026 (Monday)
Easter Monday 2027 March 29, 2027 (Monday)