Public holidays and school holidays in Germany

Overview of public, church and national holidays in all German states with school holidays and bridging days. For national holidays and school holidays there are also individual overviews by holiday type and for the entire country.

Upcoming Public Holidays

Public holiday Date States
International Women's Day 08.03.2021 (Monday) Berlin BE
Maundy Thursday 01.04.2021 (Thursday) BW BW
Good Friday 02.04.2021 (Friday) (all) (all)
Easter Monday 05.04.2021 (Monday) (all) (all)
May Day 01.05.2021 (Saturday) (all) (all)
Ascension of Jesus 13.05.2021 (Thursday) (all) (all)
Whit Monday 24.05.2021 (Monday) (all) (all)
Corpus Christi 03.06.2021 (Thursday) BW, Bavaria, Hesse, NRW, RLP, Saarland, Saxony, Thuringia BW, BY, HE, NW, RP, SL, SN, TH
Augsburg Peace Festival 08.08.2021 (Sunday) Bavaria BY
Assumption of Mary 15.08.2021 (Sunday) Bavaria, Saarland BY, SL
German Unity Day 03.10.2021 (Sunday) (all) (all)

Upcoming School Holidays

Type Start date End date
Winter holidays in Thuringia 25.01.2021 30.01.2021
Winter holidays in Saxony 31.01.2021 06.02.2021
Winter holidays in Brandenburg 01.02.2021 06.02.2021
Winter holidays in Bremen 01.02.2021 02.02.2021
Winter holidays in Lower Saxony 01.02.2021 02.02.2021
Winter holidays in Berlin 01.02.2021 06.02.2021
Winter holidays in Saxony-Anhalt 08.02.2021 13.02.2021
Winter holidays in Saarland 15.02.2021 19.02.2021
Easter holidays in Hamburg 01.03.2021 12.03.2021
Easter holidays in Bremen 27.03.2021 10.04.2021