Public holidays and school holidays in Germany

Overview of public, church and national holidays in all German states with school holidays and bridging days. For national holidays and school holidays there are also individual overviews by holiday type and for the entire country.

Upcoming Public Holidays

Public holiday Date States
May Day 01.05.2024 (Wednesday) (all) (all)
Ascension of Jesus 09.05.2024 (Thursday) (all) (all)
Whit Monday 20.05.2024 (Monday) (all) (all)
Corpus Christi 30.05.2024 (Thursday) BW, Bavaria, Hesse, NRW, RLP, Saarland, Saxony, Thuringia BW, BY, HE, NW, RP, SL, SN, TH
Augsburg Peace Festival 08.08.2024 (Thursday) Bavaria BY
Assumption of Mary 15.08.2024 (Thursday) Bavaria, Saarland BY, SL
German Unity Day 03.10.2024 (Thursday) (all) (all)
Reformation Day 31.10.2024 (Thursday) BW, Brandenburg, Bremen, Hamburg, MP, Lower Saxony, Saxony, ST, SH, Thuringia BW, BB, HB, HH, MP, NI, SN, ST, SH, TH
All Saints 01.11.2024 (Friday) BW, Bavaria, NRW, RLP, Saarland BW, BY, NW, RP, SL
Day of Repentance and Prayer 20.11.2024 (Wednesday) Bavaria, Saxony BY, SN
Christmas Day 25.12.2024 (Wednesday) (all) (all)

Upcoming School Holidays

Type Start date End date
Easter holidays in Schleswig-Holstein 02.04.2024 19.04.2024
Whitsun holidays in Schleswig-Holstein 10.05.2024 11.05.2024
Whitsun holidays in Baden-Württemberg 21.05.2024 31.05.2024
Whitsun holidays in Bavaria 21.05.2024 01.06.2024
Whitsun holidays in Rhineland-Palatinate 21.05.2024 29.05.2024
Whitsun holidays in Saarland 21.05.2024 24.05.2024
Whitsun holidays in Saxony-Anhalt 21.05.2024 24.05.2024
Summer holidays in Saxony 20.06.2024 02.08.2024
Summer holidays in Thuringia 20.06.2024 31.07.2024
Summer holidays in Bremen 24.06.2024 02.08.2024