Public holidays and school holidays in Germany

Overview of public, church and national holidays in all German states with school holidays and bridging days. For national holidays and school holidays there are also individual overviews by holiday type and for the entire country.

Upcoming Public Holidays

Public holiday Date States
Augsburg Peace Festival 08.08.2021 (Sunday) Bavaria BY
Assumption of Mary 15.08.2021 (Sunday) Bavaria, Saarland BY, SL
German Unity Day 03.10.2021 (Sunday) (all) (all)
Reformation Day 31.10.2021 (Sunday) BW, Brandenburg, Bremen, Hamburg, MP, Lower Saxony, Saxony, ST, SH, Thuringia BW, BB, HB, HH, MP, NI, SN, ST, SH, TH
All Saints 01.11.2021 (Monday) BW, Bavaria, NRW, RLP, Saarland BW, BY, NW, RP, SL
Day of Repentance and Prayer 17.11.2021 (Wednesday) Bavaria, Saxony BY, SN
Christmas Day 25.12.2021 (Saturday) (all) (all)
Second Christmas Day 26.12.2021 (Sunday) (all) (all)
New Year's Day 01.01.2022 (Saturday) (all) (all)
Epiphany 06.01.2022 (Thursday) BW, Bavaria, ST BW, BY, ST
International Women's Day 08.03.2022 (Tuesday) Berlin BE

Upcoming School Holidays

Type Start date End date
Summer holidays in Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania 21.06.2021 31.07.2021
Summer holidays in Schleswig-Holstein 21.06.2021 31.07.2021
Summer holidays in Berlin 24.06.2021 06.08.2021
Summer holidays in Brandenburg 24.06.2021 07.08.2021
Summer holidays in Hamburg 24.06.2021 04.08.2021
Summer holidays in North Rhine-Westphalia 05.07.2021 17.08.2021
Summer holidays in Hesse 19.07.2021 27.08.2021
Summer holidays in Rhineland-Palatinate 19.07.2021 27.08.2021
Summer holidays in Saarland 19.07.2021 27.08.2021
Summer holidays in Bremen 22.07.2021 01.09.2021