Public holidays and school holidays in Germany

Overview of public, church and national holidays in all German states with school holidays and bridging days. For national holidays and school holidays there are also individual overviews by holiday type and for the entire country.

Upcoming Public Holidays

Public holiday Date States
Christmas Day 25.12.2020 (Friday) (all) (all)
Second Christmas Day 26.12.2020 (Saturday) (all) (all)
New Year's Day 01.01.2021 (Friday) (all) (all)
Epiphany 06.01.2021 (Wednesday) BW, Bavaria, ST BW, BY, ST
International Women's Day 08.03.2021 (Monday) Berlin BE
Maundy Thursday 01.04.2021 (Thursday) BW BW
Good Friday 02.04.2021 (Friday) (all) (all)
Easter Monday 05.04.2021 (Monday) (all) (all)
May Day 01.05.2021 (Saturday) (all) (all)
Ascension of Jesus 13.05.2021 (Thursday) (all) (all)
Whit Monday 24.05.2021 (Monday) (all) (all)

Upcoming School Holidays

Type Start date End date
Christmas holidays in Baden-Württemberg 19.12.2020 09.01.2021
Christmas holidays in Bavaria 19.12.2020 09.01.2021
Christmas holidays in Berlin 19.12.2020 02.01.2021
Christmas holidays in Brandenburg 19.12.2020 02.01.2021
Christmas holidays in Hamburg 19.12.2020 04.01.2021
Christmas holidays in Hesse 19.12.2020 09.01.2021
Christmas holidays in Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania 19.12.2020 02.01.2021
Christmas holidays in Lower Saxony 19.12.2020 08.01.2021
Christmas holidays in North Rhine-Westphalia 19.12.2020 06.01.2021
Christmas holidays in Rhineland-Palatinate 19.12.2020 31.12.2020