Public holidays and school holidays in Germany

Overview of public, church and national holidays in all German states with school holidays and bridging days. For national holidays and school holidays there are also individual overviews by holiday type and for the entire country.

Upcoming Public Holidays

Public holiday Date States
German Unity Day 03.10.2023 (Tuesday) (all) (all)
Reformation Day 31.10.2023 (Tuesday) BW, Brandenburg, Bremen, Hamburg, MP, Lower Saxony, Saxony, ST, SH, Thuringia BW, BB, HB, HH, MP, NI, SN, ST, SH, TH
All Saints 01.11.2023 (Wednesday) BW, Bavaria, NRW, RLP, Saarland BW, BY, NW, RP, SL
Day of Repentance and Prayer 22.11.2023 (Wednesday) Bavaria, Saxony BY, SN
Christmas Day 25.12.2023 (Monday) (all) (all)
Second Christmas Day 26.12.2023 (Tuesday) (all) (all)
New Year's Day 01.01.2024 (Monday) (all) (all)
Epiphany 06.01.2024 (Saturday) BW, Bavaria, ST BW, BY, ST
International Women's Day 08.03.2024 (Friday) Berlin BE
Maundy Thursday 28.03.2024 (Thursday) BW BW
Good Friday 29.03.2024 (Friday) (all) (all)

Upcoming School Holidays

Type Start date End date
Autumn holidays in Thuringia 02.10.2023 14.10.2023
Autumn holidays in North Rhine-Westphalia 02.10.2023 14.10.2023
Autumn holidays in Schleswig-Holstein 16.10.2023 27.10.2023
Autumn holidays in Rhineland-Palatinate 16.10.2023 27.10.2023
Autumn holidays in Brandenburg 23.10.2023 04.11.2023
Autumn holidays in Hesse 23.10.2023 28.10.2023
Autumn holidays in Saarland 23.10.2023 03.11.2023
Autumn holidays in Baden-Württemberg 30.10.2023 03.11.2023
Christmas holidays in Saxony-Anhalt 21.12.2023 03.01.2024
Christmas holidays in Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania 21.12.2023 03.01.2024