Public holidays and school holidays in Germany

Overview of public, church and national holidays in all German states with school holidays and bridging days. For national holidays and school holidays there are also individual overviews by holiday type and for the entire country.

Upcoming Public Holidays

Public holiday Date States
Augsburg Peace Festival 08.08.2022 (Monday) Bavaria BY
Assumption of Mary 15.08.2022 (Monday) Bavaria, Saarland BY, SL
German Unity Day 03.10.2022 (Monday) (all) (all)
Reformation Day 31.10.2022 (Monday) BW, Brandenburg, Bremen, Hamburg, MP, Lower Saxony, Saxony, ST, SH, Thuringia BW, BB, HB, HH, MP, NI, SN, ST, SH, TH
All Saints 01.11.2022 (Tuesday) BW, Bavaria, NRW, RLP, Saarland BW, BY, NW, RP, SL
Day of Repentance and Prayer 16.11.2022 (Wednesday) Bavaria, Saxony BY, SN
Christmas Day 25.12.2022 (Sunday) (all) (all)
Second Christmas Day 26.12.2022 (Monday) (all) (all)
New Year's Day 01.01.2023 (Sunday) (all) (all)
Epiphany 06.01.2023 (Friday) BW, Bavaria, ST BW, BY, ST
International Women's Day 08.03.2023 (Wednesday) Berlin BE

Upcoming School Holidays

Type Start date End date
Summer holidays in North Rhine-Westphalia 27.06.2022 09.08.2022
Summer holidays in Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania 04.07.2022 13.08.2022
Summer holidays in Schleswig-Holstein 04.07.2022 13.08.2022
Summer holidays in Berlin 07.07.2022 19.08.2022
Summer holidays in Brandenburg 07.07.2022 20.08.2022
Summer holidays in Hamburg 07.07.2022 17.08.2022
Summer holidays in Bremen 14.07.2022 24.08.2022
Summer holidays in Lower Saxony 14.07.2022 24.08.2022
Summer holidays in Saxony-Anhalt 14.07.2022 24.08.2022
Summer holidays in Saxony 18.07.2022 26.08.2022