Public holidays and school holidays in Germany

Overview of public, church and national holidays in all German states with school holidays and bridging days. For national holidays and school holidays there are also individual overviews by holiday type and for the entire country.

Upcoming Public Holidays

Public holiday Date States
International Women's Day 08.03.2023 (Wednesday) Berlin BE
Maundy Thursday 06.04.2023 (Thursday) BW BW
Good Friday 07.04.2023 (Friday) (all) (all)
Easter Monday 10.04.2023 (Monday) (all) (all)
May Day 01.05.2023 (Monday) (all) (all)
Ascension of Jesus 18.05.2023 (Thursday) (all) (all)
Whit Monday 29.05.2023 (Monday) (all) (all)
Corpus Christi 08.06.2023 (Thursday) BW, Bavaria, Hesse, NRW, RLP, Saarland, Saxony, Thuringia BW, BY, HE, NW, RP, SL, SN, TH
Augsburg Peace Festival 08.08.2023 (Tuesday) Bavaria BY
Assumption of Mary 15.08.2023 (Tuesday) Bavaria, Saarland BY, SL
German Unity Day 03.10.2023 (Tuesday) (all) (all)

Upcoming School Holidays

Type Start date End date
Winter holidays in Berlin 30.01.2023 04.02.2023
Winter holidays in Brandenburg 30.01.2023 03.02.2023
Winter holidays in Bremen 30.01.2023 31.01.2023
Winter holidays in Lower Saxony 30.01.2023 31.01.2023
Winter holidays in Saxony-Anhalt 06.02.2023 11.02.2023
Winter holidays in Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania 06.02.2023 18.02.2023
Winter holidays in Thuringia 13.02.2023 17.02.2023
Winter holidays in Saxony 13.02.2023 24.02.2023
Winter holidays in Bavaria 20.02.2023 24.02.2023
Winter holidays in Saarland 20.02.2023 24.02.2023